

The Heath Memorial Award

The Heath Memorial Award honors those who have made outstanding contributions to cancer patient care through the clinical application of basic cancer knowledge. The award is conferred annually by The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center at the Annual Symposium on Cancer Research.

The late William W. Heath, a former chairman of The University of Texas System Board of Regents and past American ambassador to Sweden, and his wife, Mavis, established the award in 1965 in memory of Mr. Heath's brothers Guy H. and Dan C. The name of a third brother, Gilford G., was added after his death three years later.

The medallion for the Guy H., Dan C., and Gilford G. Heath Memorial Award symbolizes the care and protection of the cancer patient through the services of the physician, supported by research. Two central figures on the face of the medallion represent the physician tending his patient. Below the figures is the tree of life. To the left above them is the alpha superimposed on the omega, representing the continuing role of the physician in the care of his patients from birth to death. To the right of the figures is the retort, indicating the prominent part played by research in the physician's role as healer. All the figures and symbols emerge from the artist's interpretation of the sun, which represents life itself. The back of the medallion bears the inscription, "For Outstanding Contributions to the Care of Patients with Cancer."



The Heath Memorial Award Recipients

2022 Alan Ashworth, Ph.D., F.R.S.

2021 Padmanee Sharma, M.D, Ph.D.

2020 Elizabeth M. Jaffee, M.D.

2019 Elaine Mardis, Ph.D.

2018 Joan Massagué, Ph.D.

2017 Chi Van Dang, M.D., Ph.D. 2016

Arul Chinnaiyan, M.D., Ph.D. 2015

Robert D. Schreiber, Ph.D. 2014

Frank J. Slack, Ph.D.

2013 Charles Sawyers, M.D.

2012 James P. Allison, M.D.

2011 John Mendelsohn, M.D.

2010 Leroy Hood, M.D., Ph.D.

2009 Judy Lieberman, M.D., Ph.D.

2008 Joseph R. Nevins, Ph.D.

2007 Jane C. Weeks, M.D.

2006 Malcolm K. Brenner, M.D.,

Ph.D. 2004 James O. Armitage, M.D.

2003 Lance Liotta, M.D., Ph.D.

2002 Steven Rosenberg, M.D., PhD.

2000 Waun Ki Hong, M.D.

1998 Michael B. Sporn, M.D.

1997 Victor A. Levin, M.D.

1996 Umberto Veronesi, M.D.

1995 Rona M. MacKie, M.D., D.Sc.

1993 Sidney J. Winawer, M.D.

1992 Saul Allen Rosenberg, M.D. 1991

Wallace H. Clark, M.D.

1990 Jerome B. Posner, M.D.

1989 Andrew V. Schally, Ph.D.

1988 William F. Enneking, M.D.

1987 Melvin L. Samuels, M.D.

1986 Charles G. Moertel, M.D.

1985 Felix N. Rutledge, M.D.

1984 Raymond Yesner, M.D.

1983 John L. Ziegler, M.D.

1982 Bernard Fisher, M.D.

1981 John F. Fowler, Ph.D.

1980 Phil Gold, M.D., Ph.D.

1979 Giulio J. D'Angio, M.D.

1978 Gerald P. Murphy, M.D.

1977 Georges Mathé, M.D.

1976 Franz M. Enzinger, M.D.

1976 Wataru W. Sutow, M.D.

1975 Elson B. Helwig, M.D.

1974 C. Gordon Zubrod, M.D.

1973 Leo G. Rigler, M.D.

1972 Gilbert H. Fletcher, M.D.

1972 William S. MacComb, M.D.

1971 Jerome W. Conn, M.D.

1970 Mary E. Switzer, B.A.

1969 David A. Karnofsky, M.D.

1968 Cushman Davis Haagensen, M.D.

1967 Sidney Farber, M.D.

1966 Hans-Ludvig Kottmeier, M.D.